Classification of Trains

Indian Railways have various types of trains, all of which provide different services, amenities, fares, speeds and travel between multiple towns.

A few are super fast trains, some offer fewer competitive price facilities, while some offer AC, food and free bedding, and therefore service-based charges.

Check the video to find the variety of train running by Indian Railway

Let’s find out about the Indian Railway Train Varieties.

Superfast train

On both up and down trips, Superfast or Express trains are the fastest and have an average speed of about 60 KM per hour.

Express Mail Trains

India’s daily express rail service is also called the Mail Express Train. They run where there is trains capable of providing overlapping service. Their average speed is between 36 and 48 kilometres per hour.

Rajdhani Express

“Rajdhani” means “The Capital” in Indian Languages and it is a series of long-distance passenger trains services connecting New Delhi, the capital of India with other places of importance in India.

On Indian rail networks, Rajdhani Express trains receive the highest priority and the best facilities and services are provided for passengers.

Shatabda Express

Shatabdi Express is an Indian Railway series of superfast trains. They link Metro cities with other major cities for business or tourism.

They operate during the daytime and return on the same day to the station of origin. They are running over short to medium distances. They only have seats available, not berths.

After Rajdhani Expresses, Shatabdi Express is most preferred.

Duronto Express

Duronto means “restless’ or “impatient” in Bengali. Duronto Express includes non-stop long-distance trains to destinations. They’re quicker than Shatabdi Expresses and Rajdhani.

They are fully air-conditioned and, depending on the time of the day, passengers are served free meals during the journey.

Jan-Shatabdi Express.

Jan Shatabdi Expresses are a variety of Shatabdi Expresses that are affordable options.

Antyodaya Express

They are General trains, fully unreserved, which are going to run overnight. Except for charging ports, toilets and water vending machines, they have few services available.

Humsafar Express

They were announced in the Railway Budget of 2016-17. These are fully air-conditioned trains with GPS-based Passenger Information System Passenger announcement Network, Fire and Smoke Detection and Prevention System, CCTV, comfortable chairs, mobile and laptop charging points, integrated Braille monitor, LCD display above passage compartment doors, Fire retardant curtains, and a few others.

GaribRath Express

Garib means “poor” and Rath means “chariot,” so that means Chariot of the poor. For passengers who can’t afford expensive fares, it is an affordable option.

These trains do not have AC and have 2/3 (two-thirds of the AC class fares. They are slower than the super-fast express train and there are not many amenities open to passengers.

Tejas Express

This is a new train service that will run to Lucknow very soon between the cities of Mumbai and Karmali, Goa, Chandigarh, and New Delhi & Anand Vihar.

It will smoother the train journey and allow the trains to be faster.

Leave a Comment